Unforgiving

Standard

Apology doesn’t bring back flesh and bone,
Or beating heart,
Or the promise that was living.
Nor does it restore faith,
Uncry tears,
Unhear words.
So what I’m saying, is that forgiving
You,
Would be to forget all who have been lost to your choices.
Whose voices can never be heard,
Hearts can never be won,
Hopes can never be clung to
Again.
By forgiving you,
I dishonour
Them.
So I will not forgive you,
Not even for a second,
For all you that have done.
This is my shame,
My weakness,
My sorrow.
And for what’s to come,
We have only to blame ourselves.

Leave a Reply

