Fool

Standard

I could be the best thing that’s ever happened in your existence,
But for all you’ve seen, you don’t really know who I am.
I know I want you, but all I have to offer is resistance,
Because I can’t fit the mould of any of life’s plans.
I wish I could feel that I deserved what you’re offering,
But here I am. Look at this wreck of a fool
Who shies from your touch and flinches at what you’re saying.
This flame I must quench. I must starve it of any fuel.
Know this. I will fail you.
Know this if you can accept nothing more.
I wish that you could grow to be the exception,
But there’s not much else about which I’ve been so sure.

Like what you’re reading?

Leave a Reply

